Procrastination

Right now, I’m supposed to be writing articles for the newspaper that I work for (the Tuscola Journal). Instead, I’m looking up random content on Wikipedia, Ken-Jennings.com, and here.

Why is it in human nature to procrastinate as long as one possibly can? Why don’t we just get it done and do other stuff later, instead of putting it off? Why?

And while I’m talking about it, I should probably create a page for all my articles. But I’m probably going to put that off as long as I possibly can. 🙂

2 Comments

  1. sabqat9 said,

    November 4, 2007 at 10:14 pm

    I think writers are natural procrastinators – they are mostly people who don’t do things until they absolutely have to. Which is why writing an article is considered work. If you thought about as something that was meaningful, wonderful and fulfilling – then you would have done as soon as you thought of it. Instead, writing about something you are totally disconnected to and probably have no interest in and you consider a part of your work to make money and make a living – then it is something you don’t really want to do – where procrastination comes in. Logic says don’t do it unless you really need to. Which makes you wonder – why do we do things we don’t really like? Why not do things we really enjoy.

  2. cadams35 said,

    November 6, 2007 at 8:37 pm

    I totally agree with you – in fact, I’m procrastinating right now. I enjoy it, but it is kind of tedious, and, when you have both girls and boys basketball, as I do now, even boring and difficult, as I have to find ten to twenty different ways to say the same thing.


Leave a Reply

